Exclusive interview with Japanese Vocalist Toshiki (Pan-d-ra).

943706_138008179722291_1710356339_n

Toshiki is the vocalist of Japanese band Pan-d-ra, they belong to they Indie Label ‘Blasty’ from Japan, however they released a major single before entering it. They were making a tour with 100 performances in Japan by the time of this interview being made and opening their road away to Eurpean market, being interviewed by many webzines from the West. I had the chance of talking with this guy, about the history, concepts and else from his band, a little hard though, because of the laguages but anyway we made it great! He’s a very sweet and a guy to have a nice conversation with!

This interview will also allow you the know a little more about the Japanese Metal scene which is actually growing strong in the world, also watch out the physical style of these musicians known as ‘Visual Kei’ or ‘Visual Style’. But, please, don’t make conclusion on his their look, they rock! (interview made in May, 2013)

1-Please introduce yourself to us, and your band too.

I’m a Gothic Prince. I’ m a Hard Rock and Heavy Metal lover who has voices coloured in 7 colours! I think I’m kind, unlike the outlooks which seem to be a bit too cool at times. Pan-d-ra is the rock band which I belong as a vocalist, sending out ear-friendly melodies to audiences with all sorts of techniques.

312520_103512843090994_1994277988_n
2-How and when did Pan-d-ra Begin?

The band was established when Naoya, the guitarist offered YO-HEY, the drummer to make out great rock together. After making their decision, they started to look for other members and became Pan-d-ra in 2008.

3-What is the concept of the band?
4-Why did the band choose that name?

Derives from the Greek myth which reminds people the temptation of breaking the rules of opening the forbidden box, a visual impact of Pan-d-ra. The music which Pan-d-ra delivers are like ‘disasters’ coming out from the Pandora’s box which leads to ‘hope’ of our band, Pan-d-ra’s bright coming future.

535665_343533822422227_184059603_n

5-I know there were another vocal before you, how was your process of entering the band?

Pan-d-ra was auditioning the members when I was looking for a band where I could sing. I took their audition and then, I was liked by them and I liked them and ended up joining their band, LOL.

6-So, how do you feel in this band?

I must admit that it is rather a fact that before releasing our recent album ‘Elpis’, each one of us had something stuck in our throat. But after releasing the album, the ‘stuck’ also left, released which I feel that our energy are heading forth to more of a success.

72809_330432067065736_717371439_n

7-This band has the particularity that there is a girl in the band, tell us about that! How is for the boys working with a girl and how is for the girl working only with men?

We don’t see nor treat her as an opposite sex, we treat each other as same sex. LOL

8-My friend lives in Japan, and she said she has talked to you, and that you and the rest of the band are very kind people, how do you guys manage this since most of visual bands are very ‘exclusive’ and maybe not too expressive with their fans.

I presume that none of our members are always alert of being a Visual-kei nor a musician but being ourselves. LOL Moreover, I’m proud to say tour band is made of members who are kind as human beings♪

954650_385833708192238_1938588738_n

9-Toshiki I see you write in very fine English, do you speak it?

I can talk a little English, still I have difficulties in hearing others speak because my lack of English vocabulary.

10-Toshiki, which musicians have inspired you?

Fabio Lione from Rhapsody Of Fire, David Coverdale from Whitesnake, Hyde from L’Arc ~en~Ciel and Demon Kogure from Seikima-II.

564023_369744423134500_1707295446_n
11-Do you follow any western musician or band?

I’m not a good internet user so I don’t follow any particular Western musician.

12-You like some European metal band?

I love them! Especially, Rhapsody Of Fire!

945507_388233544618921_997361693_n

13- Favorite band, favorite song, and favorite album.

Apart from Rhapsody Of Fire, I love Whitesnake, TNT, Helloween, STRATOVARIUS, HEAVEN and STEELHEART, all with beautiful voice vocalists. I also love HIBRIA of Brazil, too. I need more time to list all of my favorite songs, still, I’d say my bests are ‘Unholy Warcry, Emerald Sword’ of Rhapsody Of Fire, ‘She’s Gone’ of STEELHEART and ‘Steel Lord On Wheels’ of HIBRIA.

14-Toshiki, many Western musician became inspiration for the Japanese bands, but now, we find that many Japanese musicians have become inspiration for Western musicians as you see a lot of visual bands in Europe and the rest of the world, why do you think this has happened and how do you feel about that?

I guess Japanese Visual-kei as well as ‘Anime’ (animation) cultures are one of the distinctive cultures of Japan that no other countries have. Because of that reason, I assume that Visual-kei is giving inspirations to musicians who have never heard nor saw such things in their own country or other countries, making something new and gradually blending to their own to create something more new and original which may become their own new culture.

562622_473152039424988_981040116_n

15- For you, which is the most emblematic Japanese band?

I say ‘X-JAPAN’ would be the emblematic band of Japan, though I like Seikima-II better. LOL

16-In Latin America Visual Kei and Jrock is very popular, you guys plain to play here sometime? That would be great!

If I ever have a chance to, I’d love to go! If I had enough money, always. LOL

17-Toshiki, do you hear another kind of music out of metal? What would you recommend to us?

I listen to various kind of music such as R & B, Soul, Funk and also J-POP and even Enka (Japanese classical ballad). I like Heavy Metal the best, but I think I’m choosing music mostly from the beautiful vocal voice.

317759_114229588685986_91719870_n

18-You have a beautiful voice, do you have professional manage or some?

It’s a MUST to stretch my body first to release the tight muscle first. It’s also better for me not to yell nor cry too much during my singing.

19-Not Crying? hahaha. You know that Japanese vocal style is very interesting, and in Japan you have made a very exclusive kind of singing, what tips do you give to us, to the guys who want to learn to sing in this Japanese style?

Tips? LOL I don’t find myself that Japanese vocal style is particularly interesting LOL. Our generation is influenced by the older generation and I can’t say by who did the older were influenced exactly. Therefore, I feel that there’s no particular vocal style. The style is normal for us but I say that there is certain individuality among the style itself for a distinction.

559849_350102705098672_1035996518_n

20-Do you play some instrument?

Unfortunately, I don’t play any instruments. I can beat a drum a little. LOL

21-You write music in your own?

Yes, I compose some melodies of the songs then other band members adds some parts to finalise our songs.

22-Toshiki what do you do in your free time?

I go out to some cafes to have some sweets, dressed up in Gothic fashion. LOL

931404_386817971427145_1556377750_n

23-what’s your dream? What do you want to gain in Pan-d-ra?

My dream is to become famous enough that everyone around the world knows Pan- d-ra and me, Toshiki. Since Pan-d-ra is a band of 5 members, it is quite a tough job for all of us to bring up one conclusion considering each others ideas. Still, we always consult and consider about the music quality of ‘ear-catchy’ music which we find that we could bring more out to the world being members of Pan-d-ra.

24-Your band has already 2 PVs (Promotional Videos), how was the experience of recording them? In fact, I just love the Video and song of Temptation! It’s so great!

Thank you. I think it was a great opportunity to have made the PVs so that the Pan-d-ra world-view could be more understood than only the music.

25-Pan-d-ra has already made many releases, tell us about the albums and singles, and how can we buy them?

Before I joined Pan-d-ra, there were releases of a single, ‘Kizuna’, a mini-album, ‘Calamity’ and a major debut single, ‘Garasu wo hedateta kono sekai (World through the glass)’. After me joining the band, we have released the single, ‘Temptation’ and our first full-album, ‘Elpis’. At the moment, lamentfully, these CDs are only distributed in Japan only, at CD stores, the online shop of our label and at the venue but if there’s much demand or requests from overseas, we would like to work on selling them outside Japan.

26-Which are the future plans for Pan-d-ra? Are you going to release some soon?

Now we are in the middle of the long local tour called ‘100 gigs in Japan’ and after entertaining the whole tour, we are considering of releasing new singles. We haven’t announced officially about the new releases yet but we are under making procedures.

27-What tips do you give to the people who wants to start a visual kei band in this part of the world, since it is not so easy as it may be in Japan.

I’l say it is a MUST for Visual-kei to be looking ‘beautiful’ on their looks. By taking some hints off from Japanese ‘Anime’ or ‘Manga’ characters and applying something that resemble (though not a total copy) their looks or outfits could be a success.

150904_334346316674311_1512252381_n

28-Well, Toshiki, this has been an amazing interview, this was my first time with a Japanese, and I am very happy it was with you! You are so nice and sweet! Thank you very much! Now please send a message to all your followers in Venezuela and Latin America.

I thank you for giving me this opportunity♪ I believe that Pan-d-ra will grow bigger and bigger that in the near future, Venezuela and Latin America Tour of Pan-d-ra won’t be only a dream. Till then, give us a little time!

I Hope to go some day to Japan and go to the Tetragrammaton and see you playing live, Cheers and long life for Pan-d-ra!

Leave a comment